When you create a new folder, report, or chart, it is private. Only you can see it, run it, edit it, and so on. A private item is illustrated with a gray icon.
When you are ready to allow others to access the item, you can publish it. This turns on any rules set on the item itself or inherited from a higher level. The icon of the item appears in full color to indicate the item is live.
Managers and developers have the ability to publish items. Once the item is published, it becomes visible to all users.